People

 

Director

Post-Docs and Graduate Students

Research Assistants

Lab Alumni

Jump to Lab Wiki

Director

Dr. Arielle Baskin-Sommers (pronouns: she/her/hers) is a licensed clinical psychologist and Associate Professor (on Term) at Yale University. She received her Sc.B. from Brown University (2007), a Ph.D. from the University of Wisconsin-Madison (2013), and completed her pre-doctoral internship and fellowship at McLean Hospital/Harvard Medical School. Substantively, her research is concentrated on understanding individual differences in cognitive and affective processes as they relate to vulnerability for disinhibitory (impulsive, antisocial) psychopathology. Methodologically, she is interested in integrating a wide range of techniques and technologies to explore this issue. Overall, her professional career goals are based on a desire to develop both innovative theory and research in service of increasing the efficacy of clinical intervention for disinhibited behaviors. 

Email: arielle.baskin-sommers@yale.edu 

Office: Kirtland 207 

Mailing: Yale University, P.O. Box 20820, New Haven, CT 06520

Curriculum Vitae

Note: Dr. Baskin-Sommers will be on sabbatical for Spring 2021 and Fall 2021. *

Post-Docs and Graduate Students

Cortney Simmons (pronouns: she/her/hers) received her B.A. in Psychology from Rice University and her Ph.D. in Psychological Science from the University of California-Irvine. She broadly focuses on juvenile delinquency and adolescent development within the context of the juvenile justice system. Cortney’s research integrates developmental psychology, criminology, psychobiology, and quantitative modeling to examine how individual and contextual factors contribute to risk taking and antisocial behavior. She also examines the juvenile justice system as a developmental context that affects adolescents’ educational achievement, wellbeing, and behavior.

Email: cortney.simmons@yale.edu

Curriculum Vitae

Sonia Ruiz received her B.S. in Psychology from Yale University in 2019. Sonia will be joining the MoD lab Fall 2021 as a graduate student! Prior to her graduate studies, she worked as an IRTA in the Development and Affective Neuroscience section at NIMH (PI: Daniel Pine). 

Email: sonia.ruiz@yale.edu

Curriculum Vitae

Suzanne (Suzy) Estrada (pronouns: she/her/hers) received her B.S. in Psychology and B.A. in Spanish from Yale University in 2016. Prior to her graduate studies, she worked at the MoD Lab as an undergraduate and post-baccalaureate research fellow and conducted research on social decision-making in individuals who engage in antisocial behavior. Suzy is interested in identifying and specifying basic mechanisms of learning, their relationship to trauma (e.g., childhood maltreatment, exposure to community violence), and their implications for understanding antisocial behavior.

Email: suzanne.estrada@yale.edu 

Curriculum Vitae

Ariel Chang (pronouns: she/her/hers) received her B.A. in Psychology from the University of Chicago in 2015. Prior to joining the MoD lab, she worked as a research fellow in the McPartland Lab utilizing EEG and eye tracking to study social cognition in individuals with autism spectrum disorder. She is interested in integrating multiple methodologies to investigate how social cognitive factors may differ in people from disadvantaged backgrounds and affect engagement in antisocial behavior. 

Email: ariel.chang@yale.edu

Curriculum Vitae

May Conley completed her B.A. in Environmental Studies and Psychology at the University of Montana. May’s research examines environmental influences on neurocognitive development and mental health. She is particularly interested in utilizing multicontextual, multilevel, and multioutcome approaches to identify risk and protective factors that can inform clinical practice and policy. May is co-advised with BJ Casey. 

Email: may.conley@yale.edu

Curriculum Vitae

Research Assistants

 

Post-bac students and staff

Brianna Sarcos, PREP Student (brianna.sarcos@yale.edu)

Undergraduate students

Alaina Anderson, Grace Hopper ‘22 (alaina.anderson@yale.edu)

Cali Baillie, Davenport ‘23 (cali.baillie@yale.edu)

Callie Benson-Williams, Jonathan Edwards ‘23 (callie.benson-williams@yale.edu)

Boris Epie, Trumbull College ‘22 (boris.epie@yale.edu)

William Gonzalez, Berkeley College ‘24 (william.gonzalez@yale.edu)

Hannah Johns, Davenport ‘22 (hannah.johns@yale.edu

Jillian Jolly, Trumbull College ‘23 (jill.jolly@yale.edu)

Hudson Patterson, Benjamin Franklin ‘22 (hudson.patterson@yale.edu)

Jenn Richburg, Silliman ‘24 (jenn.richburg@yale.edu)

Aram Russell, Benjamin Franklin ‘23 (aram.russell@yale.edu)

Emma Rutan, Silliman ‘22 (emma.rutan@yale.edu)


** Lab Wiki (Internal)Link to our MoD Lab Wiki **


Lab Alumni

 
 

Graduate Students 

Grace Brennan, Yale GS (research post-doc Duke University)

Alli Stuppy-Sullivan, Yale GS (clinical post-doc Insight PBHS Austin, TX)

Scott Tillem, Yale GS (reserach post-doc University of Michigan)

Undergraduate Students and Staff

John Barton, ‘18

Emil Beckford, ‘20

Ivana Bozic, ‘21

Laura Burston‘16

Lena Chan, ‘21

Mei Chen, ‘21

Andrew del Vecchio, ‘19 

Hatice Nur Eken, ‘17

Elizabeth Felix, ‘19 

Ari Fish, University of Pittsburg ‘14 (Jefferson Medical School)

Karelle Fonteneau, ‘16

Sammy Grob, ‘21 

Jocelle Marius, ‘20 

Samantha Marquez, ‘18

Haley Mitchell-Adams, ’18

Sophia Morales, ‘19

William Moran, ‘15

Luke Newell,  ‘19

Cole Rianda, ‘18

Cassidy Richards, ‘19

Donald Rodriguez, ‘15

Jonathan Ryan, Stony Brook (FSU GS Neuroscience)

Zoe Sernyak, ‘22

Rebecca Spaulding, ‘16

Hannah Weinstein, ‘20

Elyse VaderWoude, ‘21

Molly Williams, ‘17

Ethan Williams, ’21

Alex Young, ’20

Karena Zhao, ‘21