People

Director

Dr. Arielle Baskin-Sommers (pronouns: she/her/hers) is a licensed clinical psychologist and Associate Professor (with tenure) at Yale University. She received her Sc.B. from Brown University (2007), a Ph.D. from the University of Wisconsin-Madison (2013), and completed her pre-doctoral internship and fellowship at McLean Hospital/Harvard Medical School. Substantively, her research is concentrated on understanding individual differences in cognitive and affective processes as they relate to vulnerability for disinhibited (impulsive, antisocial) behaviors. Methodologically, she is interested in integrating a wide range of techniques and technologies to explore this issue. Overall, her professional career goals are based on a desire to develop both innovative theory and research in service of increasing the efficacy of clinical intervention for disinhibited behaviors. 

Email: arielle.baskin-sommers@yale.edu

Office: Kirtland 217 

Mailing: Yale University, P.O. Box 20820, New Haven, CT 06520

Curriculum Vitae

Post-Docs and Graduate Students

*On internship at the University of New Mexico Health Service Center*

Ariel Chang (pronouns: she/her/hers) received her B.A. in Psychology from the University of Chicago in 2015. Prior to joining the MoD lab, she worked as a research fellow in the McPartland Lab utilizing EEG and eye tracking to study social cognition in individuals with autism spectrum disorder. She is interested in integrating multiple methodologies to investigate how social cognitive factors may differ in people from disadvantaged backgrounds and affect engagement in antisocial behavior. 

Email: ariel.chang@yale.edu

Curriculum Vitae

Brendan Lam (pronouns: he/him/his) received his B.A. in psychology from Queen’s University. Prior to his graduate studies, he was a post-baccalaureate Research Assistant at Holland Bloorview Kids Rehabilitation Hospital, where he worked with Dr. Shannon Scratch studying acquired brain injury. Brendan is interested in the causes behind antisocial behaviors and externalizing psychopathology. He aims to do this by integrating multiple levels of analysis (e.g., environmental, cognitive, and neural data), and through the application and development of quantitative methods.

Curriculum Vitae

Cortney Simmons (pronouns: she/her/hers) received her B.A. in Psychology from Rice University and her Ph.D. in Psychological Science from the University of California-Irvine. She broadly focuses on juvenile delinquency and adolescent development within the context of the juvenile justice system. Cortney’s research integrates developmental psychology, criminology, psychobiology, and quantitative modeling to examine how individual and contextual factors contribute to risk taking and antisocial behavior. She also examines the juvenile justice system as a developmental context that affects adolescents’ educational achievement, wellbeing, and behavior.

Email: cortney.simmons@yale.edu

Curriculum Vitae

Jordyn Ricard (pronouns: she/her/hers) received her B.S. in Human Development and Psychological Services from Northwestern University in 2020. Prior to her graduate studies, she worked as a post-baccalaureate research assistant in Dr. Matthew Nock’s lab where she studied the relationship between early adversity and suicide risk. Jordyn is interested in investigating the development of aggression, delinquency, and substance use among Black youth and young adults from low-income and minoritized communities.

Curriculum Vitae

May Conley completed her B.A. in Environmental Studies and Psychology at the University of Montana. May’s research examines environmental influences on neurocognitive development and mental health. She is particularly interested in utilizing multicontextual, multilevel, and multioutcome approaches to identify risk and protective factors that can inform clinical practice and policy. May is co-advised with BJ Casey. 

Email: may.conley@yale.edu

Curriculum Vitae

Sonia Ruiz (pronouns: she/her/hers) received her B.S. in Psychology from Yale University in 2019. Prior to her graduate studies, she worked as a post-baccalaureate IRTA in Dr. Daniel Pine’s Section on Development and Affective Neuroscience at the National Institute of Mental Health, where she studied threat learning and avoidance in youth. Sonia is interested in investigating cognitive and affective processes underlying why some individuals have difficulty learning from consequences.

Email: sonia.ruiz@yale.edu

Curriculum Vitae

*On internship at the West Haven VA*

Suzanne (Suzy) Estrada (pronouns: she/her/hers) received her B.S. in Psychology and B.A. in Spanish from Yale University in 2016. Prior to her graduate studies, she worked at the MoD Lab as an undergraduate and post-baccalaureate research fellow and conducted research on social decision-making in individuals who engage in antisocial behavior. Suzy is interested in identifying and specifying basic mechanisms of learning, their relationship to trauma (e.g., childhood maltreatment, exposure to community violence), and their implications for understanding antisocial behavior.

Email: suzanne.estrada@yale.edu

Curriculum Vitae

Research Assistants: Post-bac Students and Staff

Boris Epie (ABCD Staff; boris.epie@yale.edu)

Eda Naz Dinc (ABCD Staff; edanaz.dinc@yale.edu

Esther Anene (ABCD Staffesther.anene@yale.edu)

Jennifer DiMuzio (ABCD Staff; Jennifer.dimuzio@yale.edu

Jenn Huo (ABCD Staff; jennifer.huo@yale.edu

Rafael Cocchi (ABCD Staff; rafael.cocchi@yale.edu

Rebekah Hobbs  (ABCD Staff; rebekah.hobbs@yale.edu

Research Assistants: Undergraduate Students

Aram Russell, Benjamin Franklin ‘23 (aram.russell@yale.edu)

Ben Scheve, Silliman ‘24 (ben.scheve@yale.edu)

Cali Baillie, Davenport ‘23 (cali.baillie@yale.edu)

Callie Benson-Williams, Jonathan Edwards ‘23 (callie.benson-williams@yale.edu)

Hannah Johns, Davenport ‘23 (hannah.johns@yale.edu

Harry Grindle, Davenport, ‘23 (harry.grindle@yale.edu

Ingrid Muniz Almaguer, Pauli Murray ’25 ( ingrid.munizalmaguer@yale.edu)

Jenn Richburg, Silliman ‘24 (jenn.richburg@yale.edu)

Jillian Jolly, Trumbull ‘23 (jill.jolly@yale.edu)

JP Ditto, Silliman ‘24 (jp.ditto@yale.edu

Klara Aastroem, Saybrook ‘24 (klara.aastroem@yale.edu)  

Mikayla Barber, Morse ‘24 (mikayla.barber@yale.edu)

Norvin West, Timothy Dwight ’25 (norvin.west@yale.edu